top of page

Pineapples

For years I have had an obsession with pineapples. Just sitting here right now typing this in my office I’m surrounded by them. Mouse pad, art work, candles, even a vase shaped like one. Ha. My classroom theme is pineapples. In my Jamberry days, I chose my team’s “mascot” to be- you guessed it- a pineapple. I have always been attracted to pineapples and collected them. They make me happy, and, as silly as it may sound, bring me a sense of comfort and joy.


When I recently found out that the symbol for infertility is a pineapple my heart skipped a beat. I teared up and had this immediate feeling of like, “THIS is why, Courtney.” I couldn't help but smile. I believe that somehow I was always being prepared for this journey, even years ago when I simply started collecting pineapple things. Really though, like how perfect is it that my classroom, where I spend most of my time, was plastered with this symbol of hope as a daily reminder long before I knew this was where I'd end up? Gives me chills.


Since sharing my story I have been showered with texts, messages, prayers, love, and gifts. It truly brightens my entire day to come home from a long day at work to a card or package from a friend. Most recently I have received pineapple gifts. A sweet friend of mine sent me a beautiful pineapple necklace with the sweetest poem, and another sent me a simple but heartfelt note with a pineapple drawn on it. Gifts are my love language- which I’ve always felt weird admitting to others because I feel it sounds materialistic, but it’s not that at all. Gifts- which include handwritten cards, or even a sticky note reminder- are how I feel most loved because it’s one way I know that someone took time out of their day to show me that they were thinking of me, or saw something that reminded them of me, etc. Another one of my friends, who went through infertility herself, sent me the cutest IUI day socks. The sole of them reads “Where there is hope, there is faith,” and on the other “Where there is faith, miracles happen.” When you have IUI or IVF done, the only piece of your clothing you’re allowed to wear is socks, so this gesture is extremely touching. Needless to say, I’ve cried lots of happy tears this week over these things.


I have so much more to update you on and share, but I’ll save that for another entry.


Thank you for your prayers, good vibes, baby dust, and support! It’s all working. I can feel it. Please keep it coming!


2 Comments


cescaa
Mar 12, 2021

Hugs and Pineapples 🍍!

Like
itsmecourtneyz
Mar 23, 2021
Replying to

Thank you!!!! 🍍

Like
IMG_1130.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Courtney, and this is my fertility journey to baby Z. We're 16 months in, and will be beginning IUI in March 2021. Writing has always been therapeutic to me, and after sharing my story on FB it was suggested for me to begin a blog. It's my hope that this blog can help you through your infertility journey, or help you help someone you love through theirs. Thanks for being here. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page