top of page

Infertility Facts

It’s officially National Infertility Awareness Week (NIAW). As y’all know, tomorrow is my second IUI. I’m not sure I can think of a better week to *fingers crossed* give the middle finger to infertility once and for all. 🎉


I’ll be sharing some facts and things about my journey throughout the week. 😊


Let’s start with some facts about infertility...


🧡 Infertility affects one out of every eight couples


🧡 Just bc you’ve given birth doesn’t mean it won’t affect you later. Secondary infertility affects 1 in 8 couples who have given birth.


🧡 Each month >>>healthy couples<<< have only a 20% chance of conceiving 🤯


🧡 Insurance companies in •ONLY 15 STATES• offer any type of coverage for this medical condition


🧡 Female infertility factor makes up roughly 1/3 of infertility cases. Male infertility factor another 1/3 and 1/3 of cases are “unexplained” or a “combination”


🧡 For women under 35, it’s recommended you talk to your doctor if you’ve been trying to conceive for 12 months. Women over 35, just 6 months. However- you know your body best. I didn’t wait the full 12 months, and I’m so glad I went when I did. It’s a common misconception that you “can’t” see a doctor until you reach that 6/12 month marker, but it’s simply not true. If your doctor won’t listen to you, find a new doctor.


🧡 The “color” for infertility awareness is orange, and this Wednesday, April 21st is National “WEAR ORANGE” day to promote infertility awareness and support those going through it. I hope you’ll join me and sport your orange! 😘



I realize much of what I’ve been sharing lately is related to infertility and my journey, and I understand that’s not everyone’s cup of tea. It’s been extremely comforting and therapeutic to share with you all, and I hope you continue to follow our journey! 🧡





Comments


IMG_1130.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Courtney, and this is my fertility journey to baby Z. We're 16 months in, and will be beginning IUI in March 2021. Writing has always been therapeutic to me, and after sharing my story on FB it was suggested for me to begin a blog. It's my hope that this blog can help you through your infertility journey, or help you help someone you love through theirs. Thanks for being here. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page