top of page

And So It Begins...

Thursday I had my baseline sonogram to determine if we could do IUI this month. This internal sonogram looks at your uterus and ovaries to make sure all looks well (aka, no cysts, etc). It also gives doctors a chance to see how many follicles (what eggs mature from) you have “available” this cycle in each ovary.


This time last month when I was getting these same tests done to determine an infertility diagnosis I had 1 follicle (egg) in one ovary and 3 in the other. The average woman has 6-12 (some many more) in each ovary every cycle. This was a huge factor in determining how low my ovarian reserve is (quick fact, women are born with all the follicles-aka eggs- they’re ever going to have, so having so few now means I’m closer to menopause than the average 31 year old woman. In fact, my doctor thinks I’ll have completely gone through menopause by the time I’m 40- most women go through menopause in their 50s).


Last Thursday, at my baseline appointment, we found that I had 0 follicles in one ovary and 5 in the other. This news actually really excited me, because even though one had none, the other had 5- 2 more than last time- and one away from “normal/average.” So, we were cleared to start IUI!


Here’s what that looks like:

  • I started oral medication to help mature my follicles into healthy eggs this past Friday

  • Today I’ll begin injections of medication to help with that, too. This isn’t very common for IUI patients (more common for IVF), but given my diagnosis my doctor is having us take a more aggressive approach to IUI for a higher chance of success.

  • Both medications will continue throughout the week. Side effects so far are mood swings and hot flashes. It’s worth it.

  • Friday I will have another sonogram and bloodwork done. What we want (& what you can pray for if you’d like specifics) is 2-3 perfect little eggs mature and ready. There’s obviously a lot more science and measurements that go into this ha, but that’s the gist of it.

  • Let’s talk this 2-3 thing... You might be wondering, if you have 5 follicles now, why don’t you want all 5 to mature? Here’s why. When your body naturally ovulates it releases ONE egg (occasionally multiples, hence twins, etc). When you’re taking fertility meds, you’re having your body work overtime to mature healthy eggs. When you take a trigger shot you signal your body to release not one, but ALL of your mature eggs. Therefore, if I were to release 5 eggs, I could have quints.

  • So, if I have more than 3 eggs ready to go, my IUI will be cancelled (meaning all meds stop, no trigger shot, sent home to ovulate normally (release 1), hope for the best, and start again next month). So, we are hoping for 2-3. Yes, this could hypothetically mean we could have triplets (although not very likely). The goal is obviously one healthy baby, but we will gladly take 2 or 3 if that’s our destiny.

  • So, assuming I have 2-3 (or 1, I’m assuming, although my doctor said we want 2-3 for a “good chance” at conceiving) I will receive my trigger shot Friday and then come back Saturday for the IUI! From there we would start our 2 week wait to find out if baby z (or baby x, baby y, and baby z ha!) stick- aka: fertilize and implant.

  • The doctor also said that, depending on how my body responds, we might be looking at an early next week IUI instead. They said that’s totally normal, too.

  • One way we’re turning the lemons of having 1 ovary with none into lemonade is now my doctor can strategically do the IUI all on one side (aka: all the swimmers to one “pool” vs dividing them up amongst the two “pools”). Lol. Lordy- listen to me. What has my life become? haha


So, for now, we wait and I take my meds and injections. I’m incredibly thankful it’s my Spring Break (I seriously think God knew what he was doing timing this for me) so I’m home, low-stress, and relaxing. School has been an enormous stress this year between the normal stuff, the pandemic, virtual teaching and in person teaching, plus infertility. I am so thankful to have time to rest and relax and hopefully prep my body to do it’s thing- and do it well!


I’ve been asked by serval people the other things I’m doing to help prepare my body to be the healthiest it can be, and I’m happy to share- but I am gonna save that for another time. Right now I’m going to take a leisurely stroll through the neighborhood on this beautiful day and listen to my favorite podcast.


I’m feeling really good about this. I’m very at peace. I’m unusually calm. These words and feelings are not common in my type-A self haha. I feel very comforted, and I truly think I have all of you to thank. Your prayers, thoughts, baby dust, and well wishes ARE WORKING. 5 follicles (up from 3) surprised my doctor in a good way. Please keep them coming!


 

A friend of mine shared this post from @hormonepuzzlemethod today. I needed this today. Maybe you do, too.


Via @hormonepuzzlemethod on instagram

Comments


IMG_1130.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm Courtney, and this is my fertility journey to baby Z. We're 16 months in, and will be beginning IUI in March 2021. Writing has always been therapeutic to me, and after sharing my story on FB it was suggested for me to begin a blog. It's my hope that this blog can help you through your infertility journey, or help you help someone you love through theirs. Thanks for being here. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page